Mechoulam Award Winners

Winner 2006 – Raphael Mechoulam (Discovered and named the Endocannabinoid System in 1992)

The ECNP Lifetime Achievement Award was established in 2005 by the European College of Neuropsychopharmacology. This prestigious Award will be presented biennially in the recognition of an individual who has made innovative and lasting contributions to the area of Neuropsychopharmacology. The Award is unique in that it recognizes a lifelong dedication in the field of Neuropsychopharmacology. 

The Father of Cannabinoid research

The first recipient of the ECNP Lifetime Achievement Award is Prof. Raphael Mechoulam, at the Dept. of Medicine and Chemistry at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel. Raphael Mechoulam has a long and distinguished career both as a mentor and as a scientist at high administrative positions. He is the formal Academic Head (Rector) of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He has been President of the International Cannabis Research Society and he has received numerous national and international honors, for instance, he is a member of the Israel Academy of Sciences.  

2017 Mechoulam Award Winner Daniele Piomelli

YouTube Video

2016 Mauro Maccarrone

2015 Mary Abood

2014 Beat Lutz

2013 Aron Lichtman

2012 Ben Cravatt

2011 Cecilia Hillard

2010 Patricia Reggio

2009 Gerard Le Fur

2008 Ken Mackie

2007 Vincenzo DiMarzo

2007 Mechoulam Award Winner Vincenzo DiMarzo

YouTube Video

2006 John Huffman (credited with the invention of Spice), not necessarily a good thing 


Sponsored by the NIH National Institute of Health 

YouTube Video

Mary Lynn Mathre

Mary Lynn Mathre Part 2

Tikun Olam

Medical indications recognized by the Ministry of Health today are:

Oncology Field:

-       Patients undergoing chemotherapy or those up to six months after treatment for nausea and pain relief related to their treatment.

-       For pain relief for patients with metastatic cancers and after conventional treatment methods are exhausted.

Pain Field:

-       For patients suffering from neuropathic pain from a clear organic source, after at least one year of treatment at a recognized pain clinic before requesting cannabis, after exhausting conventional treatment options, and with the recommendation of their pain clinic.

Gastroenterological Field:

-       Crohn’s Disease- For patients that aren’t responding to conventional treatment options well enough.

-       Colitis- In special cases, it will be given to patients with ulcerative colitis that aren’t responding to conventional treatment options.

Infectious Diseases:

-       HIV/AIDS- Patients with Cahexia symptoms (defined as a >10% loss in body weight).

Neurological Field:

-       Multiple Sclerosis- Patients suffering from spasticity that aren’t responding to conventional treatment options.

-       Parkinson’s Disease- Patients undergoing anti-Parkinson’s treatment for at least one year and experiencing chronic pain or pain from stiffness, that aren’t responding to conventional treatment options.

-       Tourette’s Syndrome- Adult patients suffering from severe symptoms that impede daily functioning and that aren’t responding to conventional treatment options.

-      Epilepsy - Adult and pediatric patients with epilepsy, suffering from severe symptoms and that aren’t responding to at least five conventional treatment options.

Palliative Care Field:

-       Terminally ill patients.

Psychiatric Field:

-       Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD): – Adult patients that have been diagnosed with PTSD and meet the criteria for at least 21% disability by the Bituah Leumi (National Insurance Institute) (NII), that have been suffering from the disorder for at least two years and exhibiting extreme emotional distress. In addition, patients need to have tried three combinations of conventional medicinal interventions for at least two months each and three commonly accepted psychological interventions.

Counter-indication for treatment – active psychosis or first-degree family history of psychotic diseases.

New indications are being added regularly, see the Ministry of Health website for up-to-date information. A physician is entitled to petition the indications committee of the Ministry of Health to add a new indication to the list. Also, physicians may request individual exceptions for patients with diseases not currently in the list, but which the physician feels warrant cannabis for the patient.